Ni no Kuni: Wrath of the White Witch

Spirited Away, Howl’s Moving Castle, Princess Mononoke – what do they all have in common? Movies that are all made by Studio Ghibli. Honestly, I’m not a fan of Ghibli – I’ve only seen Spirited Away but I love their collaborations and contributions with other production companies like Production IG, working with titles like Lupin III, Full-Metal Alchemist and Gurren Lagann. Anyways, here’s a clip from their Japanese PS3 game entitled “Ni no Kuni: Wrath of the White Witch”

I actually saw this through Kotaku, a few months back and I was in awe of how Studio Ghibli was able to pull this off. It’s their first anime based video game which is available through the Nintendo DS and the Playstation 3.  Can’t wait to play this once there’s an English version of it. As a Square fan-boy, I haven’t seen anything worth playing that suits my tastes recently.  When i usually play a game, my entertainment factor is satisfied if the game keeps me on my chair while holding the controller for more than 30 minutes.

According to Wikipedia, The Nintendo DS version, titled Ni no Kuni: Shikkoku no Madōshi (二ノ国 漆黒の魔導士?, literally “Second Country: The Jet-Black Mage”), was released on December 9, 2010, while the PlayStation 3 version, titled Ni no Kuni: Wrath of the White Witch (二ノ国 白き聖灰の女王?, literally “Second Country: The Queen of White Sacred Ash”), was released in Japan on November 17, 2011. Me thinks they are working on localization as there is going to be Western version to be released and published by Namco Bandai Games sometime this year.

The last Anime RPG style game I played which i thoroughly enjoyed was Radiata Stories. Grandia III probably was a close second. Ok, let’s include Star Ocean 3. You’re absolutely right, mostly PS2 titles. I haven’t played that much PS3 titles for the last few. Tested FF XIII and didn’t like it.  I did play Pokemon Black and White a few months back as well as HeartGold and Soulsilver so…if I want an anime game that would serve as a good time waster for the PS3, it could be Ni No Kuni.

Anyone from Japan got any reviews for this?

Verne

27 thoughts on “Ni no Kuni: Wrath of the White Witch

  1. Sorry I can’t give you my opinions about the game since I haven’t played it yet but I love Spirited Away and Howl’s Moving Castle so I’m hoping that this would also be good.🙂 I’m sure the story line, at least, will be awesome🙂 Let us know what you think!

  2. I’m not familiar with PS3 and nintendo games ngayon eh. Aion lang nilalaro ko kasi and dati Silent Hill sa playstation. Ngayon temple run and veggie samurai na lang sa phone. Nag degrade na.. hahaha.

  3. I have left rpg games a long time ago well because I could not fit it in anymore in my schedule work + blogging + other stuff.. now I am into mobile games and a lot simpler hahaha.. thanks sharing this though.. woot

  4. Hi guys. Thanks for posting. I’d recommend this (once it comes out) for your kids if they like anime style RPGs. Alam nyo naman ngayon everything’s in Facebook or through mobile these days ~ I’ll do a Facebook, iPad/iPhone review or a mobile game for everyone once I find an interesting game

  5. I think I can like this game even if I am not a kid anymore :p I love the Studio Ghibli movies and if the game has even the slightest resemblance to them it will be great! Nice post!

Leave a Reply

